We Do Not Sow

Of all the fantastic location is Westeros and beyond, it has been the Iron Islands that most captivate me.  Probably because it combines my two favored geographical features – mountainous terrain, and a misty sea.  Likewise I am usually fond of the Greyjoys.  I might not want to see them rule the continent, but they are my favored family.  I like all of them, the clever, and the stupid, the humorous, and the wicked.  It was an immense pleasure to learn so much about them this last book.

I always like Theon.  I liked his mocking smile, I liked his leering ways, and daft misconceptions.  He is the kind of character I always fall for. A boy with big dreams, bad intentions and worse luck.  He kind of reminds me of a more developed version of Draco Malfoy or Zuko from Avatar.  He is the perfect example of someone who is not evil, but who has inadvertently created evil.  And of course it all went so terribly wrong, which makes it all the more amusing.  I think Theon is one of the most fascinating of all Martin’s characters.  And I think this last book put his erratic behavior in proportion by fleshing out his family.

His sister Asha is much easier to respect.  She is more stable than Theon, and much more realistic in terms of her goals, plus she understands her people which is very important.  But I think what I liked most about her was how comfortable she was with her own sexuality. We have seen time and time again that the most powerful women in Martin’s world depend a great deal on their sexual charms to maintain their positions.  Circe sleeps with men for favors and false loyalties. Arianne made Arys fall in love with her to make her plans pan out. Daenerys was sold for the sake of a crown and she continues to manipulate men (such as Joras or Xora) so that she may keep it.  But Asha treats sex much more causality.  Yes, I’m sure she does it to raise her own popularity, but for her it’s not shameful.  It doesn’t have to be hidden.  She seems complete comfortable in her own skin, and as a modern reader I find that very empowering.

And then there are their Uncles, of which only Rodrick Harlaw hasn’t managed to spike my interest.  The three Greyjoys I liked very much.  Aeron Greyjoy’s opening chapter titled “Phrophet” was absolute gorgeous. I loved the sea, and the bleakness, as well as the sheer intensity of his fervent religiosity.  Even to a none-believer, or perhaps especially to a none-believer it came across as very powerful, almost frightening.  But it was his other two brothers who I liked the best.

I really like how Martin set up the conflict between them – the aggression, the distance, and yet there is something else there.  I guess it could be called a “blood-tie” but I don’t think that’s quite it.  I think that despite all the tension between them they still admire each other as men.  Euron knows what a good captain Victarion is.  He understand that his younger brother is able, and capable, and fierce.  That he is in short a great leader among the Ironborn if only because of his naval strength.  And in his own way Victarion acknowledges his elder brother’s power even as he resents him for it.  He cannot fail to see that Victarion is enigmatic, he is charismatic, and he is a lot cleverer, even as he is mad.  Their connection, and their history is so interesting that I cannot wait to find out what happens between the Ironborn, and our Dragon Queen….

I think Martin has achieved a lot with the Iron Islands in this book.  Not only did he add a threat to Circe, and the Tyrells, but at the same time he also put another claimant for the Iron Throne forward.  I also think the way he has quietly created the culture and religion of the Iron Islands is impeccable.  I have a feeling that just like Theon failed in his conquest of the North, his Uncles will fail in the conquest of Daenerys Targaryan, however I look forward to their imminent defeat with relish.  In Martin’s world I have often found that losing battles, and suffering humiliations makes the characters much more interesting.  Because it forces them to change, to grow stronger.  Isn’t that how it’s been for Sansa, and Jamie, and Tyrion?

Leave a comment